December 2010

Plan to use Successsign.com service ? Think twice !

Successsign.com send me emails to try their One Way Link Building Services , a USD30 deal for a trial of 5 “quality” links.

I pay USD30 and waited 5 days, they send me an excel file stating that they have done.

1st link – PR2 page with no backlinks. Home domain PR 0, apparently this domain was a deleted domain someone bought it for SEO purpose.

2nd link – PR1 page with no backlinks. Home domain PR 0. Domain own by seo company. No quality content at all.

3rd link  - PR2 page. Home domain PR2. this is slightly better. domain has 3 backlinks.

4th link – PR2 page. Home domain PR3. Domain has 1 backlink. No quality content from the site. mainly a link farm.

5th link – PR2 page. Home domain PR2. Domain has 0 backlink. Low quality website.

Does it worth the USD 30 ? think again !


Strange visitors to my website.

Question :
I was checking my “recent visitors” and noticed the following script coming from an ip address in Europe. Can anyone make out what’s going on and should I block this address?

Host: 85.25.**.**
//phpMyAdmin1/scripts/setup.php
Http Code: 404 Date: Nov 20 19:00:03 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 2157
Referer: -
Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)

//phpMyAdmin/scripts/setup.php
Http Code: 404 Date: Nov 20 19:00:03 Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 2157
Referer: -
Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)

Answer :

That’s actually IE6′s user agent, except this is likely a bot spoofing it. It’s probing for vulnerabilities, and unfortunately the ip address belongs to a web host, so it could be anyone.

They are testing if you have those scripts installed and if they can access them

The best thing you can do is to make sure all your scripts are up to date. If you keep getting slammed from the same ip address or range, you can block it or redirect their requests.